top of page

What is AAMPO?

Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs) are transportation policy-making bodies established for urbanized areas with populations of 50,000 or more. MPOs are intended to establish a continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive planning process for the metropolitan area.


The Albany Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (AAMPO) was formed following the 2010 Census, after the Albany Urbanized Area had surpassed 50,000 in population. AAMPO membership includes:

  • City of Albany

  • City of Jefferson

  • City of Millersburg

  • City of Tangent

  • Linn County

  • Benton County

  • Oregon Department of Transportation

For more information about AAMPO, visit our website!


Who runs AAMPO?

Policy Board

AAMPO is governed by a Policy Board composed of elected representatives from member jurisdictions.


Technical Advisory Committee

A Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) composed of representatives from member jurisdictions – as well as ex-officio members from the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA), Federal Transit Administration (FTA), the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development (DLCD), and the Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) – provides technical assistance and support.


Staffing is provided through a contract with the Oregon Cascades West Council of Governments (OCWCOG).

AAMPO Map.jpg
bottom of page